IT’S FLO TIME!


Published by Icy_libra

1st December 2022

‘Say you want my body body’……….(I couldn’t resist)
I’ve been praying for a Black British act to give me that early 2000s R&B and pop sound. I lowkey (ok highkey), miss when artists use to sanggg their songs.( I sound like such an Old head, Well I am a part of the older Gen z). You know what, God answered my prayers, he introduced me to a trio (even better than a solo act).

Who Are FLO?

FLO for The Beat Juice Magazine

FLO is a girl group from London. They consist of three members. Jorja Douglas (20), Renee Downer(21) Stella Quaresma (21). The group gained fame on TikTok with their covers. A viral tweet of their debut single (cardboard box) led to the ladies gaining traction from artists such as SZA, chole bailey and  Kelly Rowland. What I love about FLO are their soulful and fresh voices. Not to make too many comparisons but their voices are very reminiscent of the late 90s and early 2000s. Particularly the likes of destiny child and Aaliyah. Each one of their voices compliments the other. There is no weak link among them, they ALL stand out. Cardboard box was produced by singer/record producer MNEK and garnered 5.2 million views within 7 months on Youtube. After the release of their debut single, they signed a record deal with Island records.

Fast forward to the 8th July 2022, the girls released their debut Ep, The Lead. It consisted of 5 singles with Immature as the lead. Immature has been my favourite song this year. The Timbaland esque Production, vocals and music video. These girls have the whole package.

Other favourite tracks of mine were feature me, summertime and not my job (featured on the extended version).  

The beat drops in 0.01 seconds and you’ll already be in love with the whole track. Their songs have great replay value and quality. Which is a rare thing nowadays. A lot of today’s music is just trends but with FLO, their music is a timeless.

If you really want to see how talented FLO is just watch their acoustic performances. My favourite one is the VEVO DSCR performance of Immature (gives me literal chills).

Since the release of the EP,  FLO has received 50 million streams and 1 billion views on TikTok.

It’s truly refreshing to see young Black British women flourishing in the music industry. Being a young Black woman in the UK, you feel invisible, so I would say that FLO makes me feel seen. I can’t wait for their upcoming projects and live shows (which I tried to get tickets to but they sold out in seconds).

Official EP Cover, The Lead

Awards and Nominations

FLO has recently won awards from GUAP GALA(Music artist to watch) and The Bulletin(Rising star award). The Bulletin awards had big stars like Lizzo, Harry styles and Doja cat also nominated in other categories, So you can see, FLO are literally amongst the stars.

FLO has been nominated for the Brits Rising Star Awards 2023 (the first female group to do this), and Best Push 2023 at the MTV European Music Awards.

Whether they win or lose, these awards and nominations indicate that FLO is ready for world domination.


Leave a comment